Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo: Fourteenth President of the Philippines

Biography of Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo

Fourteenth President of the Philippines

By Storytelling Philippines

Category: Philippine Presidents

Era: Fourteenth President of the Philippines, Fourth President of the Fifth Republic
Constitution: 1987 Constitution of the Republic of the Philippines
Predecessor: Joseph Ejercito Estrada
Successor: Benigno S. Aquino III
Date Elected: January 20, 2001 (succeeded into office)
May 10, 2004; 12,905,808 votes (39.99% of the electorate)
Inauguration: January 20, 2001, EDSA Shrine
May 10, 2004, Provincial Capitol of Cebu
Seat of Government: Manila
Vice President: Manuel de Castro (June 30, 2004-June 30, 2010)
Teofisto Guingona (February 7, 2001-June 30, 2004)
Chief Justice: Renato C. Corona (May 17, 2010-May 29, 2012)
Reynato Puno (December 8, 2006-May 17, 2010)
Artemio Panganiban (December 20, 2005-December 7, 2006)
Hilario Davide (November 30, 1998-December 20, 2005)
Senate President: Juan Ponce Enrile (November 17, 2008–June 5, 2013)
Manuel Villar (July 24, 2006-November 17, 2008)
Franklin M. Drilon (July 23, 2001-July 24, 2006)
Aquilino Pimentel (November 13, 2000-June 30, 2001)
Speaker of the House: Prospero C. Nograles (February 5, 2008-June 30, 2010)
Jose C. de Venecia (July 23, 2001-February 5, 2008)
Feliciano R. Belmonte Jr. (January 24, 2001-June 30, 2001)

Previous Positions
Executive Bureaucracy: Assistant Secretary of Trade and Industry (1987)
Bureaucracy: Undersecretary of Trade and Industry (1989)
Cabinet: Secretary of Social Welfare and Development (1998 – 2000)
National: Vice President of the Philippines (1998-2001)
Legislative Upper House: Senator (1992-1998)
Lower House: Representative of the Second District of Pampanga (2010-2016)
Judicial:: None
Others None
Worked under other Administrations:
C. AQUINO as Undersecretary of Trade and Industry
RAMOS as Senator
ESTRADA as Vice President; Secretary of Social Welfare and Development
AQUINO III as Representative of 2nd District of Pampanga

Personal Details
Born: April 5, 1947 San Juan, Manila
Political Parties: Laban ng Demokratikong Pilipino, Lakas-Christian-Muslim Democrats, Lakas-Kampi CMD
Parents: President Diosdado Macapagal and Evangelina Macaraeg
Spouse: Jose Miguel Arroyo
Children: Juan Miguel M. Arroyo, Evangelina Lourdes Arroyo-Bernas, Diosdado Ignacio Jose Maria M. Arroyo
Education: Assumption Convent (presently Assumption College) (1964), Studies in International Trade, Georgetown University (1964 – 1966), Bachelor of Arts Major in Economics, Assumption College (1968), Masters of Arts in Economics, Ateneo de Manila University (1978), Doctor of Economics, University of the Philippines (1985)
Profession: Economics Professor, Academe Professor, Assumption College (c.1977-1987), Professor-  Ateneo de Manila University (c.1977-1987), Professor -University of the Philippines (c.1977-1987)

How to Cite This Web Page
Villena, Daryll. "Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo: Fourteenth President of the Philippines". Accessed [put the date when you accessed this page]. Available from

* The above retold story is based on...

Philippine Presidents, Presidential Museum and Library, (Kalayaan Hall, Jose P. Laurel Street, MalacaƱang, Manila City, Jose P Laurel Sr, San Miguel, Manila, Metro Manila)

Retold Stories Copyright

Get instant updates from on:
Storytelling Philippines
Write us at storytellingphilippines(@)gmail(dot)com

If you find this post helpful and informative, feel free to SHARE it.
Storytelling Philippines on Facebook |

We’d love to know what you think about this post. Feel free to leave your comment.
We do reply to each of your messages or questions so please come back if you’ve left one.